Senior Nursery Nurse

About Me:

I have been working in childcare for the past eight years, and I have experience with a mixed age range of children, from babies to older children. Initially, I started working as a nanny when I first moved to London, and then progressed my career by working as a nursery practitioner once I moved to Hertfordshire. I was then promoted to a Room Leader and worked within a pre-school in St Albans before I decided to join Monkey Puzzle Astwick.

Fortunately, when I was growing up in Italy, I was always surrounded by children in my neighbourhood and the parents acknowledged my childcare talents. In addition, I looked after my younger brothers and supported our local summer camps. Consequently, I have had an opportunity from an early age to discover my interest in child development. Furthermore, I have been blessed to have received the chance to study psychology and this increased my depth of knowledge regarding the world of children. In my spare time, I enjoy reading about child development and I try to ensure that my practices are up to date with the latest child development guidance.

I am very appreciative that I have been given an opportunity to work with the team at Monkey Puzzle Astwick. I chose to apply for this nursery, as the grounds have beautiful open spaces, the overall goal and vision for the nursery, and what this nursery can offer the children. I believe, it is very important for the children to have opportunities to learn both indoors and outdoors.

In my spare time, I like to do a wide variety of different things, from yoga to reading, being outdoors, travelling, sewing, and taking photographs. Being Italian, I love good food and cooking in my kitchen at home.

Interesting fact about me…

Growing up in Italy, I was lucky enough to spend time sailing with my grandad and hiking with my parents. I have a real love for the ocean, and water sport activities such as sailing and surfing. When I am unable to get to the coast, I like to spend my time in the mountains regardless of weather. I have three brothers, two younger brothers and one older brother. I have always been interested in travelling, discovering new cultures and new food. I am lucky enough that I found my boyfriend, who shares the same passions.

Qualifications and Training

  • NVQ level 2 in childcare
  • BSc (Honours) Psychology
  • Key Stage 2 Teaching
  • Yoga
  • COVID – Prevent
  • COVID – Infection Control
  • Prevent/FGM
  • Food Hygiene
  • Safeguarding
  • Paediatric First Aid